Being Femme

Standard

Lately been reading a few blogs here and there about being Queer and Femme.  And decided to add my voice to the queue.

I am a cisgendered femme female. I chose femme as an identifier, because for the most part I like being femme and female. Like most cis gendered females, not to crazy about a certain visitor that comes once a month…(and some of us have it so much meaner then the rest…my heart goes out to you, really.)

The most part….occasionally I have my androgynus moments, or even masculine moments.  I like aspects of genderfucking. (where someone who is obviously 1 gender will go all the way, or partially like the opposite gender. classic example would be a bearded man wearing a dress.)

But, what alot of the argument has been about, in regarding Femme/Feminity and Feminism, is that alot of the more…strident Feminists are saying because ‘we’ Femme’s like looking feminine, we are complieing with not only the gender binary, but also a ‘tool of the patriarchy.’ 

Ye Gods.  I have noticed a trend with alot of women at this point just not considering themselves to be feminists anylonger. Which I can’t say I completely blame them….

But…no I don’t want to do that. I still like the reasons and agree with WHY feminism started in the 1st place, getting women a chance to shout above the masses and elect whom we feel would be good leaders for our cities, counties, and country. Being able to choose whether or not to marry, have children. Now, the focus has been on maintaining that we keep the rights we have won, but also to combat discrimination.  By using tools that have been discovered thru Psychology and Science, and a whole bunch of interesting articles,books and websites, We are ever trying to make this world a better, positive place to live in.  (Though sometimes I feel like it is a losing battle.)  Discussions about the gender binary, are very intriguing to me. I feel there is both good and bad about it. Bad in the sense that depending on what gender you are, you are to perform such and such role.  Ehh No.  I present Femme because I like it. Period. Not because any dude expects me to. And I don’t give a good flying fuck if someone thinks I’m a tool as a result.

Positive discussions in ways we can chip off the more negative areas of gender binary…sure!

About SwitchWitch

I am 5'3, with medium brown colored hair, with blond and red highlights. Blue eyes. Almost but not quite vampire pale skin. I am a big woman, (at the time of writing this I am at 260 lbs. Yes I am aware that I am obese. I plan on going a on a diet soon. I like Butch Females,(Boi's and not.) as well as Trans Males. And yes, Trans Males I do see you as being fully male. That may sound contradictory, but to me it isn't.

Leave a Reply

